The 7 Chakras Explained – The Sound Journey Store - Canada's Largest Selection of Bowls, Gongs and more Skip to content

We are closed to support our students in this week's Bear Love Gong Flumie Training. All orders placed after May 11 will be shipped after May 23, 2024.

The 7 Chakras Explained

The 7 Chakras Explained

Explore the Chakras and learn how they can be used in sound healing.

What are Chakras?

The Sanskrit word Chakra literally translates to wheel or disk. In yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. There are seven main chakras, which align with the spine. They start at the base of the spine and they move upward through to the crown of the head. To visualize a chakra in the body, imagine a swirling wheel of energy where matter and consciousness meet. This invisible energy, called Prana, is a vital life force, which keeps us vibrant, healthy, and alive.

Look at the study here.

The Real Story of Chakras

Over the past one hundred years, the concept of chakras, subtle energy centers within the body, has seized the Western imagination more than almost any other teaching from the Yoga tradition. And yet, as with most other concepts deriving from Sanskrit sources, the West (barring a handful of scholars) has almost totally failed to come to grips with the original chakra-concept in context, as well as how one is supposed to practice with them. This post seeks to rectify that mis-use and misunderstanding, to some extent.

Read the real story here.

Older Post
Newer Post
Close (esc)

Holiday Hours

We will be closed on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. Feel free to call to chat or book an appointment to visit on any other day over the holidays.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.


Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now